The Summer of Second Chances by Maddie Please

Deep, heavy books are not for summer.  Summer books need to be light and fun and transport me away from the heat and humidity. This book is a fun read that just makes ya feel good. I like books written in the first person point of view when the characters are honest and I can relate to them. I like the main character and I connected with her and her struggles almost immediately.  The author did a good job of not sharing every part of the story in the first chapter. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I have to be careful with what I say, but I liked how the author developed one of the storylines over time. It made me read faster because I had to know what happened.  I need to note that this book is written from an English point of view, so some of the phrases and spellings may be different than American English. However, I did not feel like that took away from the story.

 

 

The Summer of Second Chances is the perfect feelgood summer read.’ Chrissie Manby, author of What I Did On My Holidays

Lottie is about to discover that even when you think you’ve lost everything, hope and romance can be just around the corner . . .

It takes time to build your life. To get into a long-term (OK, a bit boring) relationship. To find a job (you don’t completely hate). Lottie might not be thrilled with the life she’s put together, but it’s the one she’s got.

So when in the course of one terrible evening, it all comes crashing down around her, Lottie has a choice: give herself over to grief at being broke, single and completely lacking in prospects.

Or, brick by brick, build herself a new life. And this time, with a little help from friends, a crumbling cottage in Devon and a handsome stranger, maybe she can make it the one she always wanted.

The Summer of Second Chances is an irresistibly funny read about never giving up, whatever the world throws at you. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Jane Costello and Christie Barlow.

Amazon

**I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a review**

 

Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *