The End of the World Running Club

This is not the kind of book I normally read. When I first started this blog I decided to not focus on only one genre. That would be easy. So I have read many non-fantasy books. Some have been worth it, and some haven’t. I don’t like post- apocalyptic literature mostly because of zombie. I hate zombies. I am happy to report that this book has NO zombies.

The title of this book caught my attention. My husband is a runner and so many of our dinner-time conversations involve running and all things running. I’m glad I read this book because overall I liked it and I think it is well written. Edgar, the main character, is faced with an almost impossible situation. His town and most of the Northern Hemisphere has been destroyed by asteroids. He is separated from his family.  In order to join them, he has to, you guessed it, run.

The twist with this book is the main character is NOT a runner. He is just an ordinary man who feels stuck in his life and is trying to figure it all out. He has two young kids and he struggles with fatherhood. I’m not a father, but the doubts he shares hit home. I’ve been there, done that.  That part, along with all the other insights the author shares are spot on and totally well-developed. The other characters are just as deep.

What I didn’t like about this book was the lack of dialog. I like people and I like dialog. There were long passages of narrative that dragged on at times. I also do not like ambiguous endings. Here was this good story, written well enough to overlook the parts I didn’t like, and then I get to the ending. I was not a happy camper. I admit this is my preference though and others may not be bothered by it.

Perfect for fans of The Martian, this powerful post-apocalyptic thriller pits reluctant father Edgar Hill in a race against time to get back to his wife and children. When the sky begins to fall and he finds himself alone, his best hope is to run – or risk losing what he loves forever.

When the world ends and you find yourself forsaken, every second counts.

No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. Stranded on the other side of the country from his wife and children, Ed must push himself across a devastated wasteland to get back to them. With the clock ticking and hundreds of miles between them, his best hope is to run — or risk losing what he loves forever.

____________________

Adrian J Walker was born in the bush suburbs of Sydney, Australia in the mid ’70s. After his father found a camper van in a ditch, he moved his family back to the UK, where Adrian was raised.

His second novel, The End of the World Running Club, is a post-apocalyptic running fable about hope, love and endurance. It is being published by Del Rey UK, in May 2016.

His third novel, Colours, is the first part in a dystopian sci-fi trilogy and is available now.

 

Amazon

**I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for a review**

Author

8 comments

  1. The title of this book would not make me want to pick it up to read it. Your review, however, has me intrigued. And now my wish list has one more book on it.

    1. You have to let me know what you think when you read it. I always like to talk to people when we’ve read the same book.

  2. This type of book puts you in the character’s head and makes you think. I love your review style and agree with your thought that we need to be open to many genres, but I just can’t get into the despair of the dystopian themes and tend to avoid them. You are brave my friend!

  3. I am kinda surprised when you mentioned that there were fewer dialogues. How does that even work, without dialgoues? But then I read the blurb which says he is stranded alone. Is that why there very few dialogues? You have to temme!

    Gayathri @ Musings Over Nothing

    1. There are long passages where the writer just tells you what is happening. Like, he went to the table and began eating instead of “Hey Mike, join us for dinner.” (these are not quotes from the story) Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *