12 Books of Christmas~ Reviews 1 & 2

 

I luved this book, but come on- who doesn’t love a good Christmas story? If you are a fan of Love Actually you will like this book. The set-up is the same in that there is one main story centering on one family, but several interconnected people stories add to the plot development. The characters are solid and such fun to watch, well actually read. The author did a great job setting up each event it made it easy to see these scenes in my head. I laughed out loud a few times and garnished a few laughs from the people around me.

 

**Thank you, NetGalley for letting me read this book**

 

 

Katy’s been stuck in the office away from her family so she wants it all: snow (fake or real), the Michael Bublé Christmas album, whatever it takes.
There’s only one thing missing as far as her husband Ben is concerned: another baby to complete their family. But Katy isn’t so sure she’s ready yet…
Ben may be playing the role of Master Elf in the pre-school nativity but he is struggling to master his own family life. With romantically-challenged friends, an ex who refuses to go away and Katy’s mum’s 64-year-old toy boy thrown into the mix, Christmas looks like it could be going off the rails… Never mind family planning, can Katy and Ben even plan to make it to the end of Christmas Day?

From the no. 1 bestselling author of No-one Ever Has Sex on a Tuesday, this book will make you cry with laughter, and then book your flights abroad for the festive season. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Milly Johnson.

 

 

Tracy started writing when her cruel, heartless husband ripped her away from her dream job shopping for rollercoasters for the UK’s leading theme parks, to live in America with a brand new baby and no mates. In a cunning plan to avoid domestic duties she wrote the romantic comedy, NO-ONE EVER HAS SEX ON A TUESDAY.
Her new Connecticut friends took a shine to her British sense of humour and encouraged her to share her words with a wider audience. NO-ONE EVER HAS SEX ON A TUESDAY went on to be successfully published internationally and became a number 1 bestseller in the UK. So now Tracy has a new dream job, making people laugh and sometimes cry through her writing.
She’s back in England now and cracking on with writing about other people who screw up their lives in a hilarious fashion. NO-ONE EVER HAS SEX ON CHRISTMAS DAY is her latest novel to be launched into the world.

Get in touch with Tracy at tracybloom@hotmail.co.uk or follow her on twitter @TracyBBloom

 

 

This book is plain and simple pure awesomeness. If you like the movie, you will like this book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A delightful Christmas storybook for adults based on the action-packed Die Hard movie. All John McClane wants for Christmas is to reunite with his estranged family. But when his wife’s office holiday party turns into a deadly hostage situation, he has to save her life before he can get home in time for Christmas!The unconventional fan-favorite movie Die Hard is now an illustrated storybook—complete with machine guns, European terrorists, and a cop who’s forced to rely on all his cunning and skills (and the help of a fellow officer) to save the day. Based on the classic “Night Before Christmas” poem and filled with whimsical illustrations, this cleverly reimagined homage is destined to become a holiday classic.*Contains adult material including violence and strong language. Reader discretion is advised. Ho-ho-ho.

 

Doogie Horner is an author, illustrator, and comedian. His books include Some Very Interesting Cats Perhaps You Weren’t Aware of (Workman, 2015), Everything Explained Through Flowcharts (Harper Collins 2010), and 100 Ghosts (Quirk Books, 2013), among others. He is the illustrator of the Kid Legends series (Quirk Books, 2014-2017).

Doogie was a semi-finalist on America’s Got Talent where he famously won over a hostile NYC audience. His comedy album, A Delicate Man, was an AV Club staff pick. He is a frequent guest on Doug Loves Movies and has been featured on Dave Chapelle’s Oddball Comedy Tour. His live show The Ministry of Secret Jokes won a Best of Philly award from Philadelphia Magazine.

His humor writing has also appeared in McSweeney’s, Wired, Playboy, Fast Company, the London Times, Boing Boing, and other publications.

 

These reviews were part of the 12 Books of Christmas Challenge

Author

14 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *